top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemaura knutsen

freezing temperatures, consistent rain, Capri jeans... winter in Changsha, anyone?

Heya everyone! The temperature has DROPPED here in Changsha. It is SO cold. Thank you China for having cheap underground malls to shop at. My wardrobe now consists of four very Chinese sweaters, Nike high tops, long sleeve turtle-neck shirts, warm socks, and a coat that doesn't hits my arms about two inches short of my wrists. :) Gotta love Chinese sizes. See, I was very stubborn when packing to come here, and now I am regretting it. The jeans I purchased a month ago are considered capris in the States... So, just imagine me wearing those jeans, and pulling my socks up to cover my bare legs... Yes. It is quite a sight. :) Go me for being so stubborn and not listening to my mother when she advised me to pack at least some winter clothes. Yehaw! It's just added to the adventure. :) The next two pictures were taken this past week as I explored WuYi square.

As I was walking across the bridge to return to campus, I looked out over the river and had a difficulty seeing Mao's head (there is a giant Mao head at the end of JuZiZhou Island created to honor him and his work). The air quality is quite poor, so no running. BUT, I try and walk every day to get exercise. I don't know why, but I thought it was beautiful to watch the rain fall as the clouds raced above me. I was listening to my favorite music and oh so happy. I loved walking along watching the lights across the city

begin to light up. It's the little things that make life so grand. By the time I made it back to my side of the river, it was dark. It had stopped raining, but the ground was still wet. You know when you can see the reflection of the lights on the wet ground? I find it so beautiful, and I got to experience it watching the light show on the IFS building. Funny moment: I had a dance party on my way back. :) Haha yep. I was singing at the top of my lungs and dancing. I didn't care people were looking at me. :) Because... I was (and am) so happy. All the time. And I wanted to live like it. This past week I have realized how difficult it will be for me to leave. But I am so grateful to have found the happiness I ALWAYS want to feel. I am so grateful. Life can be so hard. On those hard days, it's difficult to stay happy. BUT, one day at a time. sometimes one hour at a time. Because this life is so incredibly glorious. The past three and a half months have taught me quite a few lessons about life and even taught me about myself, but I cherish the knowledge I possess knowing this life is great. If it's not great, you have to look a little harder. :)

I am loving campus in this weather. I love how many trees there are. After work, I will often come to this park and sometimes hike. The day this picture was taken, there was a fog creeping over the mountain peak, cascading down into the park. It was gorgeous. I haven't seen the sun in a few weeks, but I think it's been worth it to experience Changsha in the winter, right? :) The leaves are FINALLY starting to change! I love seeing

the oranges and yellows in with the greens. It reminds me of home. :) Also, this past week: I saw my first movie! Me and my friends from Russia and Sweden saw the new Fantastic Beasts movie. It was in English, with Chinese subtitles. To be honest, I forgot I was in China for two hours. :) haha. It felt so much like home! I loved hanging out with the girls, too. This next picture was taken in TianMa as we were shopping for Christmas

decorations. The glasses Kamilla and I tried on were very cheap... they didn't even have glass/plastic where they should have! :) All in all, the past week has been wonderful. I am starting to wrap things up here preparing for my family to come. Time has flown by... I remember what it felt like when I first got here, thinking their arrival would never come. I am so glad I have taken every opportunity to explore and experience China. I can honestly say the past three and half months have been the greatest in my life... and when I board the plane to come home, I will saying it has been the greatest four months of my life. :) Here's to the remaining time I have here.

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page